The Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Visiting Team made the following comments about our staff:

  • "Highly qualified staff who provide extensive support to students."
  • "Warm, supportive therapeutic environment with staff who have formed trusting relationships with students."
  • "Executive Director who maintains an “open door” policy and by whom all staff, parents, and students feel supported."


  • Nicole Barker - Executive Director
  • Allan Chatman - Dean of Students
  • Joanna Wong - Operations Manager
  • Martin Godfrey-  Facilities and IT Manager
  • Gladys Sanchez - Quality Assurance/ Office Manager
  • Alison Montalban - Administrative Coordinator 
Middle School Teachers / Teacher Assistants
  • Room 101:  Eva Marcos-Mendez / Christina Alvarado 
  • Room 102:  Alex Woodward/ Amy Ratto
High School Teachers / Teacher Assistants
  • Room 104 / 105:  Melanie Bailey-Bird/ Steve Calarco/                                                                       Betsy Devitt/ Kim Jones/ Erica Calacson
  • Room 201:  James Hearn/ Atum Crockett/ Nancy Axelson
  • Room 202:  Shia Smith/ Aidan Diskin/ Liliana Garcia Martinez
  • Room 203:  Dan Zarchy/ Alysia Ayoub/ Dajana Tobias
Mental Health Therapists: 
  • Lindsay Duckles - Clinical Program Manager, LCSW / Therapist
  • Iran Garcia Ph.D. - Waivered Psychologist / Therapist
  • Angelina Avalon -MFT / Associate Therapist
  • Chandra Birenbaum - MFT / Therapist
  • Lauren Erickson  - MFT / Therapist
  • Abigail Stone - MFT / Therapist
  • Larry Lymos - Intern Therapist
  • Lakia Wolfarth-Davis - MFT / Associate Therapist
  • Alex Mitchell -MFT / Associate Therapist
Student Support Staff:
  • Cobi Chu - Lunch Support
  • Niqui Hill - Vocational Instructor and Community Liaison
  • Ron Lucas - School Counselor and Campus Peace and Safety Coordinator
  • Lela Lynch-Collins - Mental Health Rehabilitation Specialist and Student Activities Coordinator
  • Jenny Sanjeevan - Academic Support
  • Chandra Birenbaum - Transition Counselor
  • Betsy Devitt - Behavior Specialist
  • Liz Isono- Occupational Therapist
  • Cecilia Lindsay- Speech and Language Pathologist
  • Judith Lunger – Speech and Language Pathologist
  • Deborah McCloskey - Speech and Language Pathologist and Assistive Technology Specialist
  • MaryAnn Pearson- Reading Specialist
  • Tacorra Gray - Educational Therapist/ Behavioral Specialist 
  • Anna Johnson - Math Specialist
  • Seabron Sawyer- Math Specialist 

​​Contact us:

E: info@thephillipsacademy.org

T: 510.769.7100

F: 510.769.1824

​Find us: 

1910 Central Avenue

 Alameda, California  94501

The Phillips Academy admits students of any race, color, national origin, and ethnic origin to all rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin or ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies and athletic or other school-administered programs.

© 2019 by The Phillips Academy